These text messages between state Reps. Jodie Laubenberg (R-Parker), Jeff Leach (R-Plano), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney), Matt Shaheen (R-Plano) and Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano) were obtained by The Dallas Morning News through the open records laws governing this state. The request was for "any and all communications...exchanged between the Collin County commissioners and any members of the state Legislature that contain the word "Paxton" from July 1, 2016 to today." These text messages were sent the week of October 10, 2016.